uktier logo

Useful Links

Tier 1 - Highly Skilled Worker

The points-based immigration system is presently being phased in as the means of regulating immigration to the UK from outside the European Economic Area (EEA). The scheme is composed of five "tiers" which will replace all the previous work permits and entry schemes, including Scotland's Fresh Talent Initiative.

Tier 1 covers highly skilled workers and was introduced on 29 June 2008. It is split into a number of sub-categories each with their own requirements.

The UK Tier 1 Visa is specially designed to allow highly skilled workers to come UK for work or self-employment opportunities.

This UK new tier system replaced with the previous UK Skilled Migrant Visa - the Highly Skilled Migration Programme (HSMP) - in 2008.

Like the old UK Skilled Migrant Visa, the UK Tier-1 Visa uses a points-based system to decide your eligibility.

Eligibility for UK Tier 1

You need score 95 points in the points test 

Once you have been approved for a UK Tier 1 Visa you should apply for either entry clearance to come to the UK (if you are out of the UK) or leave to remain (if you are in the UK).

There are two ways to apply for this visa category either from within the UK (unless you are a tourist or visitor in the UK) or from your home country.
This UK Tier 1 ( highly skilled worker ) skilled migration programme allows visa holders to settle in the UK and work without any restrictions for an primary period of 3 years, which can then be extended by another 2 years. Visa holders can apply after 5 years for permanent residence. This Highly skilled workers category does not require any sponsorship by family or an employer and is different from a work permit because it does not need an employer to obtain a permit for you.

Share Your Visa Experience
Fields marked with a are required
* Name: 
* Email Address: 
* Topic Subject: 
* Topic Detail: 
* Enter Code:  code